Minutes of the Annual General Meeting of the Sutherland Shire Environment Centre (SSEC) 2021-2022

Saturday September 24, 2022, Sutherland Shire Seniors Centre

Present

Philip Andersen, Trish Beath, John Bowen, Neil Buckingham, Vicki Cattell, Kerry Cattle, Maggie Carmody, Maggie Craig-Lees, Gay Curtis, Mark Da Silva, Helena dAlton, Nikki De Audley, Peter Donely, Liz Donely, Scott Dovey, Megan Edwards, Heidi Ellis, CLR Leanne Farmer, Ricki Coughlan, Pamela Gregory, Ian Hill, Annette Hogan, Scott Hogan, Penny Kalaremas, Shannon Kaiser, Mary Kellam, Anissa Lawrence, Lily Meier, Muriel Milne, Rodney Monk, Martin Moore, Catherine Reynolds, Cooper Roach, Colin Ryan, Linda Seymour, Rob Taggart, Diane Townley, Greg Walker, Judy Walker, Carolyn Wood, Ian Wright.

Apologies

Megan Benson, Nick Boes, Bob Crombie, Nurmani Crombie, Sarah-Jo Lobwein, Phil Smith, Sally Stockbridge, Ruth Zeibots.

Introduction

Ian Hill, SSEC Chair opened the meeting with an acknowledgement of country and welcomed those attending before introducing the guest speaker, Dr Ian Wright.

Presentation: Dr Ian Wright on mine pollution impacts on waterways

Dr Wright is a lecturer at Western Sydney University and a highly regarded expert in the field of freshwater ecology, water quality, water policy and the science and management of water pollution. He has a long-standing research interest in the impact of coal mining activities on streams and rivers.

Screening of the movie "Mining in the Blue Mountains".

Following the movie Dr Wright took questions and comments on the pollution of the Hacking River in the Royal National Park by the Peabody mining operation at Helensburgh. The proposed platypus reintroduction into the Royal National Park and the condition of the macro invertebrates in the river were discussed.

CLR Leanne Farmer commented that contacts should be carefully researched to ensure that any petitions to government on this matter should be effectively directed.

Break for refreshments

AGM Business

Ian Hill opened the AGM Business with a message from founding SSEC member Ruth Zeibots: "I wish all those carrying on this unique community group all the best in their endeavours. I'm sure Bob Walshe would be proud of what has been accomplished over recent years, as I am also. My best wishes to all participating to keep the Sutherland Shire clean and green."

Confirm Minutes of the previous AGM

The Minutes of the 2021 AGM were confirmed as a true record of the meeting.

Moved - Catherine Reynolds, Seconded - Lily Meier

Chair's report

Ian Hill spoke to his Chair's report (See 2022 Annual Report.) and acknowledged the contribution of Tassia Kolesnikow as previous Chair.

He thanked those who helped with the organising and set up of the meeting venue, particularly Megan Edwards.

Bill Ryan Award

Catherine Reynolds presented the 2021 Bill Ryan Award which went to Sharyn Cullis. Catherine first acknowledged the outstanding contribution and character of Bill Ryan. Reading from some of the many nominations for Sharon, she spoke to the long history of Sharon as a dedicated and effective campaigner for the environment.

RD Walshe Writing for the environment award

In the absence of Phil Smith, Ricki Coughlan read Phil's contribution to the Annual Report. Due to the unprecedented number of entries a clear winner had not yet been chosen but the results would be distributed to members when known.

She thanked Phil Smith and other judges, Dave Scott, Verity Snaith, Laura Kirk, Syd Smith, Alex Talbot, Peter Spence and Barbara Koppe.

Financial Report

Lily Meier, SSEC Treasurer reported on the SSEC's financial position. (See 2022 Annual Report.) It was moved that the meeting accept the Financial Report.

Moved - Mark Da Silva, Seconded - Greg Walker

SSEC Board Election

Ricki Coughlan declared all positions on the SSEC Board vacant, thanked the outgoing Board Members and announced the following nominations:

Chair of the SSEC - Ian Hill Treasurer of the SSEC - Lily Meier Secretary of the SSEC - Dr Catherine Reynolds

Other Nominees were: Phil Smith Scott Dovey Mark Da Silva Linda Seymour Sally Stockbridge

With eight of a possible eight positions the nominated positions were declared elected to the new Board.

General business

Ian Hill welcomed the new Board before thanking Rodney Monk for his work setting up the audio-visuals, made note that new member Cooper Riach was standing for The Greens at the coming election in the contest for the Heathcote electorate.

Mark Da Silva mentioned the necessity to form a strategic plan to become active in highlighting the SSEC's agenda and campaigns in the lead up to the coming New South Wales election.

Liz Donnelly suggested that the SSEC organise a public rally to protest mining pollution at Helensburgh. Discussion followed on venues and organisation.

Ian Hill encouraged all present who weren't members to join and support the work of the environment centre.

The meeting closed at 4:55pm