Minutes of Sutherland Shire Environment Centre (SSEC) AGM 2020

Thursday, 10 September 7-9pm – Via zoom

The formal AGM meeting started at 8.20pm

1. Attendance

Tassia Kolesnikow (Chair), Kaye Osborn (Minutes), Catherine Reynolds, Sally Stockbridge, Phil Smith, Lily Meier, Melinda Millen, Leah Wedmore von Baintner, Peter Donley, Colin Ryan, Megan Benson, David Butler, John Nelson, Sarah-Jo Lobwein, Alex Talbot, Sue McKinnon, Rick Cavicchioli, Charlee Rose Murtough- Coombes, Brett Lobwein, Greg Walker, Judy Walker, Gary Ryan, Rodney Monk, Laura Wrigley-Carr, Veronica Hester, Olivia Rushin, Barbara Koppe

Su Morley (Guest)

Apologies: Lyn McClean

2. Confirm minutes of previous AGM (link was circulated with invitation)

The Minutes of the 2019 AGM were confirmed as a true record of the meeting. Moved – Catherine Reynolds, Seconded – Phil Smith. Carried.

3. Chairperson's report

A brief Chair's report was delivered by SSEC Chair Tassia Kolesnikow around the theme of Think, Write. Act. The Annual Report can be downloaded on the SSEC website: https://ssec.org.au/wp-content/uploads/2020/09/Annual-Report-2020.pdf

It was acknowledged that Lyn Mc Clean is stepping back from being Secretary. Lyn was thanked for her work. The Board and Members were also thanked.

4. Life Membership Award – Jenni Gormley

John Nelson spoke about and gave thanks for the exhausting and tireless effort of Jenni Gormley over the past 15 years. The full tribute to Jenni can be read on the SSEC website.

5. Financial Report

John Nelson reported on the Centre's financial position and noted that the written report is in the process of being finalized. The Centre is in a healthy financial position and has paid off the mortgage on the Morton Street property

It was moved that the AGM approve the delegation of the acceptance of the financial report to the Board

Moved: Tassia Kolesnikow. Seconded: Greg Walker. Carried.

6. Election of Board

All positions on the Board were declared vacant and the following nominations were announced:

Dr Tassia Kolesnikow (Chair)
Lily Meier (Treasurer)
Sarah-Jo Lobwein
Melinda Millen
Dr Sally Stockbridge
Phil Smith
Catherine Lee
Leah Wedmore

As the number of nominations matched the number of positions on the Board, the nominated persons were declared elected by Returning Officer, Catherine Reynolds.

7. General Business

Megan Benson spoke about Council's Draft community Development Strategy. She requested lots of people participate in the forum and advised that it will be discussed in next SCAN Meeting.

Tassia and Catherine were thanked for their great hard work for the Centre.

Colin Ryan thanked Tassia and the Centre for the Bill Ryan Activism Award.

The meeting closed at 9.00pm.

These minutes were confirmed as a true record of the meeting.

Date:

Chairperson, Sutherland Shire Environment Centre